August 12, 2010

  • What’s the difference between Christianity and other religions?

    I’ve been tossing an idea around my head for awhile.  I’ve shared it with some people and they seem to agree.  At the least, I haven’t heard any real arguments against it.  And it’s a significant thought because it is basic.  Like an amino acid.  Complex and directional thoughts will be influenced by this, if this is to be adopted.  So I’ve decided to step it up and put it here to share.  There are some specfic people, whom I would love to hear from for sure.  But this is being put up for whoever wants to comment and tear down.  So I give you permission in advance to discuss and debate (politely) what I’m trying to say here. So it begins with a question:

    What’s the difference between Christianity and other religions?

    People most often point to Jesus coming down to earth to save us. A God who understands and cares for us.  But I wanted to put a different twist on it.  I am venturing to say that the difference between Christianity and other religions is that in Christianity, people are unable to save themselves.  We cannot redeem ourselves. We cannot make things right.  No amount of good we do will ever justify the wrongs we have committed.

    There are some basic assumptions I’m making that need to be stated:

    1) All people have screwed up and done something bad in their life.  This can be as simple as lying, stealing, or coveting.  Or it can be as complex as violence, such as verbal, physical or sexual assault.  Yes, I am counting calling someone an idiot an act of violence.  Have you been to middle school?  Have you been scarred by people hurling insults at you?  It’s an act of violence.  It doesn’t become more acceptable just because you’re an adult, or college degreed or a republican.  It’s still an act of violence, and it is not cool.  See: Matthew 5:22

    2) [Insert other assumptions I have failed to mention here]

     

    So, when I think about this, I think about the ways other religions attempt upward spiritual mobility.  It seems to me (without actually studying different religions intensively) that it’s about what we have to do. Whether it is meditating (Buddhism) or specific acts of prayer, pilgramage and alms giving (Islam), or the sacrificial lamb (Judaism), it all appears to be about what we need to do.  If we do enough good, we can justify ourselves and dig ourselves out of this hole we’re in.

    But Christianity is different in this because it starts with the assumption that we are all on the same playing field (no caste system), and ends with us asking for forgiveness regarding all that we’ve done (and thought) wrong.  We cannot atone for our own sins.  No amount of donating to charity or saving the whales will make up for the pain we’ve caused to [fill in the blank].  We have introduced net wrong into the world.

    So if this premise holds true, that we cannot save ourselves and that we need a Saviour, we are then defined by our inability, our lack and our neediness.  This leads to a second thought: we are still defined by this neediness and helplessness even as Christians.

    I will expound on this more in a followup post.  But I wanted to get this out there first.  I’m interested in your thoughts.  Do you agree? Disagree?  Is Christianity actually different in this aspect or am I ruined by my ignorance?

Comments (3)

  • that’s a good thought that I do agree with =)

  • I’m going to think about this more but as of right now I agree with you. :)

  • I heard from somewhere (most probably a preacher) that the fundamental difference between Christianity and other beliefs is the forgiveness offered to us by God. I may be wrong because I may remember wrong, but I think I’m right about what he said. Anyway, I think your point and his point are similar. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *