September 8, 2007

  • A shadow of sorrow passed over Taliesin’s face.  “There are those,” he said gently, “who must first learn loss, despair, and grief.  Of all paths to wisdom, this is the cruelest and longest.  Are you one who must follow such a way?  This even I cannot know.  If you are, take heart nonetheless.  Those who reach the end do more than gain wisdom.  As rough wool becomes cloth, and crude clay a vessel, so do they change and fashion wisdom for others, and what they give back is greater than what they won.”

Comments (6)

  • I do have to read those books–I’ve never gotten around to them.

    True words. Very true. Tolkien echoed the same thing: in the Silmarillion we find out that Olorin, the spirit who would later become Gandalf, learned wisdom from the goddess of sorrow and grief.

  • Thanks for sharing that. Very apt for me at this point in time.

  • Do you ever get bored with Xanga?

  • I honestly can’t understand why anyone would find me entertaining.

  • I only liked the Black Cauldron.

  • nice quote. like our pastors tells us, thank the people that pour poop in your life, it helps you grow sweet fruits :)
    PTL = praise the Lord

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *