February 7, 2007

  • Beauty is meant to be shared, part 2

     Singapore at night



    The Esplanade at night in Singapore.  See it at sunset here.


    I have said before that “beauty is meant to be shared.”  My compulsion to share beauty is so strong and irresistable that I sometimes wonder if there is a basic, fundamental quality of beauty that necessitates that it be shared.  I also wonder, without biblical or theological foundation, if a small part of God’s desire to create man was so that He could share love and beauty with someone other than himself, so that there would be a greater (as in more, not better), aggregate joy.  I can’t help but feel that this is the case, even if the sharing of love and beauty was only a side thought in the creation of man.


    The sudden resurgence of this line of thought can be attributed to a xanga site that I subscribe to.  The xanga-er periodically posts up a picture (or more) followed by a quote.  Nothing more, nothing less.  It is simplistic in format, but the format accentuates the significance of what is being posted.  The simplicity of the post allows me to appreciate the beauty of the pictures and the beauty of the quote associated with it.  I sit back and wonder every time it is updated.  NaraeKim.  Be sure to hit “next 5″ at least 3 or 4 times to get a broader glimpse to the depth of the posts.


    I feel that more often than not, we lose sight of beauty in this world because we forgo the simple things.  People are looking to increasingly complex plans, devices and ideas to excite them – and they are not wrong in doing so; there is as much beauty to be found in complexity as there is in simplicity.  I only want to point out that many people are becoming so fixated on the complex that we forget the simple.


    I am guilty of it myself.  Oftentimes at night, I catch myself stunned at the beauty of the night sky, and then subsequently wondering how long it’s been since I last took time to admire the beauty of the stars and the heavens (being in “sunny” Binghamton doesn’t really help either, since it’s almost always overcast.)  But some things are hard to miss.  Every time the sun sets, I try to peek out the hallway window to see what colors will be revealed that day.  Whenever I go hiking with Russo, I almost always stop at a babbling brook just to listen to what it is babbling about.  Just last Friday, I had the opportunity to go to a live orchestral performance.  I had forgotten how beautiful that music is.  At the end of the night, my shoulders were sore from all the applause I had given.  (I’ll leave it to you to decide if this was indicative of the quality of the performance or the quality of my health.)


    I think there is great beauty in simplicity.  The same part of my brain that enjoys the perfect, still surface of a lake also enjoys the beauty of a modestly dressed woman.  It is also the same part of me that enjoys a Wii (as opposed to an Xbox 360 or PS3), or organizing a “dumpling night,” where everyone sits around the table making dumplings by hand and telling stories.  Absolutely, I believe that less can sometimes be more.


    I once commented to a friend on her xanga entries.  They were short, but the meaning behind the words she chose reached far beyond the screen.  She called it “compact brilliance.”  I called it amazing.  The subtleties of her language and expressions spoke so much deeper and more personally to me than a more verbose entry of similar content ever would.  Oftentimes, I sit here at the beginning of a xanga entry, trying to emulate the same artistry that she composes in her writing, only to be frustrated by my lack of talent.  I suppose a lot of my xanga entries fall to the wayside because I am unable to find the words.  This entry on sharing beauty, for instance, has been in production for almost a year now.  I am relieved that it is finally seeing the light of day, though it is nowhere near the quality of beauty that I had hoped for in my head.


    I think that last paragraph should be categorised as an aside.  I had more to say, but I must have forgotten it all.  Hope you all have a wonderful day.


     



     

Comments (7)

  • nice entry! i agree. there’s beauty in the simple things. we just need any eye for it. i was encouraging my bro last night to seek out things beautiful and worthy to rejoice about in school everyday.

    http://www.xanga.com/iphoto this site also has some nice photos and quotes to go with it too. i was excited to find out she’s a christian!

    i share your fustration about writing sometimes, too. but, practice makes perfect! your sharings are great already!

    btw, i can’t go to NareKim’s site.

  • ^Thanks for the heads up.  I fixed the link.

  • Someday I’m going to videotape a bag blowing in the breeze, and all will be right with the world.

    Beauty rocks.

  • yes, I am generally arrested mid-step by a beautiful sight.  the moon always stops me. 

  • As I was scrolling down your site and saw the top of your photo, I thought, “This looks so like Singapore.” Then it actually was! You’ve got a nice shot of the night scene there. There’s not much nature here, but everytime I pass the highway and I see the buildings with all the lights on, I would stop what I am doing and just admire the scene before me.

    I totally agree on beauty being found in simplicity. Sometimes we also need to just stop and smell the roses. Dunno about you, but we Singaporeans are always rushing from here to there that we forget to appreciate the simple things in life or observe the beauty around us. We tend to turn to increasingly complex things for our entertainment, like shopping. Ha!

  • cool post :)
    glad we share the love for the simple and the workings of the Creator. Indeed, we have complicated things and His love to an unimaginable degree. Explains why folks won’t choose Jesus – cause salvation just seems too simple

    you took a YEAR to write this post? keep writing, brother..

  • I just came across a blog where the writer quoted some stuff about beauty from a book “The Mom Walk” by Sally Clarkson) she was reading. Thought I’d share some of the quotes with you.

    “I was struck by the depth of God’s desire for us to enter into the vast experience of beauty which God created. He loves life, and even admist the battle and the work, He desires us to be filled up by His beauty and His joy. In a way, our obedience to this is part of our winning of the battle, for then, joy really does have the day.”

    “So today, look for joy. Seek out beauty and model to your children what it means to live in celebration of God’s marvelous life. Look for the miracles that go unnoticed each day. Rest in the pleasure of your Lord’s companionship and revel in His creation. The end result will be that you have brought celebration to the very heart of your own loving Father.”

    Though they are written in the context of parenting, I thought the part about beauty was appropriate, given the focus of your posts lately.

    You can check out her blog at gracereign.blogspot.com.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *